I think I got a little Carried away…

Anyone who knows me knows that I love Sex and the City. It’s kind of a guilty pleasure of mine right up there next to Twilight and online window shopping. Even though I was only 9 when the show first aired on HBO and was far too young to watch such a racy show, I soon discovered it right before it went off the air 6 years later. I remember watching the series finale with my best friend in her living room and absolutely loving everything about Carrie Bradshaw and her relationship with Mr. Big. It was the kind of relationship I wanted. Granted, I was only 15 at the time and had very unrealistic expectations about men. But I still wanted my Prince Charming to come to Paris and rescue me and carry me off into the sunset. I mean hey, a girl can dream right?

Ever since that night, I started watching all the episodes that I could. TBS started showing reruns at night and soon there were marathons of old episodes available. I didn’t want to buy the DVD’s for fear of what my mom might say. And then we were introduced to the wonders of Charter On Demand. It had every episode ever aired and I would sit in the living room with my best heels on with some sweet tea in a martini glass. Yes, I stooped that low. I was obsessed. With the fashion, with the romance, with the sisterhood. Did I mention the fashion? Carrie Bradshaw was everything I wanted to be. I’ve always been a huge fan of Sarah Jessica Parker and to have her play one of my favorite characters on televison was the best of both worlds. She was a writer. I was a writer. She had a column and lived in the cutest New York apartment. She had romances and flings and nights out on the town all in her best Dior and Chanel accessories. But through it all her heart belonged to one man and she finally got him in the end. She had the best three girl friends anyone could ask for and lived the life I had envisioned for myself once I graduated college and got my degree in journalism. I still admire her to this day. I know that she’s a fictional character, but I really don’t feel like the real SJP is much different from Carrie. (Besides the 2 kids thing). That show gave women hope. It gave them an outlet and it gave them a greater sense of freedom to do what they wanted with their life.

So while I’m still a few short months from being able to drink my own Cosmopolitan, and while I cannot afford the designer labels that Carrie and her friends could, I still put as much effort into my everyday life as she did. I try to hold my head up as high as I can and look my damn best while doing it. Not only have I learned to have more confidence and to make my life what I want it to be, but I’ve learned that a bright red shoe and a kick ass necklace can make any outfit pop.

Leave a comment

Filed under Things I Love

Leave a Reply

