Shh! I’m trying to read

I was provoked this morning when I found out that my right to literature was being challenged. I taught myself how to read at the merry old age of 4 and I haven’t stopped since. I’ve read everything from the Berenstein Bears to Little Women to a failed attempt at War and Peace. And one thing I try to read everyday is the newspaper. In my reading this morning, I saw where groups of protesters and members of some Fundamental Intellingence brouhaha group are rising up against Twilight. If you know me, you know that I am a great big huge fan of Twilight, not because of Edward Cullen, but simply because of the literature and the way that amazing story is told. These books have been out for years now and these people are just making these comments. They say that vampire books have been among the most challenged for years and that this series’ sexual content makes it the number 5 most challenged book for this year. Also on that list are The Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Color Purple, Catcher in the Rye, To Kill a Mockingbird, and of course, Harry Potter.
The number 3 book on the list is entitled “And Tango Makes Three” which is a CHILDREN’S book about two male penguins who adopt a penguin baby. This should tell you something about our society today.

This angers me to no end. It seems as if these poet laureate wannabes wait until a book becomes popular before they find something wrong with it and try to have it removed from the shelves. Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn still to this day remains the most challenged book in history and yet we see it in every classroom and every library. Last time I checked, this was a free country and our First Amendment constitutes free speech and free press for all. Since I’m pretty sure the Bill of Rights has not been changed in the past few years, acts such as these are morally wrong. Don’t take a book off the shelf just because it talks about sex, drugs, suicide, homosexuality, racial issues, or monsters. Have you turned on the TV lately? Have you heard any of the music being played on the radio? Every single one of those aspects and more are thrown all through the media in rather generous portions and no one is trying to get them taken off the air. People are profiting from showing naked women all over the TV and in magazines. The majority of the books they try to challenge don’t even have pictures. They are trying to censor words in literature and they are trying to dictate the choices of readers everywhere.

Here’s a tip: Parents, if you don’t want your child to read a certain book, then don’t let them read it. But don’t stand outside a library with a picket sign trolling that you want it taken off the shelf. Going into a library or a bookstore and picking a book to read is a personal choice. No one makes that choice but that person. And they don’t have to read the smut you say people are printing today. In my opinion, these people are just jealous that they didn’t come up with the idea of Edward Cullen or a school of witchcraft and wizardry and they hate that they aren’t making any money from such a brilliant idea. Well get over it. Sit down at your computer and write your own bestseller if that’s the case. I plan on doing it myself one day and if you try to take me off the shelf, you will experience a wrath of hell that you have never thought possible.

Take away my right to read and you will get the horns my friends. Thank god you people weren’t around when Anne Rice and Bram Stoker were writing. Otherwise, vampires would look like fairies. And that is something that I am just not okay with.

Leave a comment

Filed under Randoms

Leave a Reply

