It makes me feel like a kid again…

My favorite books of all time have got to be the ones I used to read when I was a kid. I taught myself how to read (with some help from my grandmother) at the merry old age of 3 and I haven’t stopped since. The books I read when I was younger are the ones that shaped who I am today and are what helped me to become a lover of literature. I had honestly forgotten about a lot of those jewels until the other day. You may be wondering why I am reminiscing about the days of yore. Well I’ll tell you.

While perusing through Listopia on GoodReads the other day, I saw a list of books entitled “The Ones That Got You Hooked.” It was a list compiled by users of the first book they read that truly got them hooked on reading. And as I went through this list, I came across all my favorite books from the stone age, most of which I had completely forgotten about, but once I saw the cover, it all came flooding back to my memory. I feel like the majority of us forget where we got our start and I’m ashamed to say that I had forgotten the books that brought me to where I am today and the ones that showed me what I want to do in life. What are some of these selections you might ask? Well let’s have a look-see.

  • The Junie B. Jones series: These are basically the books I learned to read on. Junie B. was the 6 year-old rebel that lied secretly in the heart of all of us. Every book was an adventure from The Stupid Smelly Bus to Almost Being a Flower Girl, even to finally becoming a First Grader. This series is all about childhood innocence and the trouble it can get you in and is still one of my favorites to this day.
  • The Mrs. Piggle Wiggle series: Ohhh mylanta I loved these books so much and am currently on the hunt for them so I can once again have them in my collection. Mrs. Piggle Wiggle was the modern day Mary Poppins/Supernanny. Whenever a parent was having trouble with a rebellious child, they would call up Mrs. Piggle Wiggle. Mrs. PW only needed a week with the children and promised to have them cured of their rambunctious ways by the end of the week. She had a remedy for every problem from not wanting to eat vegetables to not wanting to clean a room. These books are hilarious and truly are a gem for any age.
  • Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel: If you haven’t heard of this book, you are missing out. I went through a phase where I read this book at least once every day for like two or three months. I just really loved the story. It was all about perseverance and that steam shovel was pretty sweet.
  • Sideways Stories from Wayside School: This book was uniquely awesome. Wayside School was one twisted establishment. Literally. Everything was completely backwards, from the teachers to the students to the layout of the school itself. Each individual chapter was dedicated to one student in a particular class and gave their “sideways” story. It was definitely a fun read and is another series I am on the hunt for once again.
  • The Berenstein Bears: Do I really need to explain this one? I mean it’s the Berenstein Bears. They were an essential addition to anyone’s book collection.
  • Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator: I may be shunned for saying this, but I liked this book a lot better than The Chocolate Factory. I thought it was a lot more fun to read and provided a more in-depth story. Yes, I worried about things like that when I was young. What can I say? I’m a nerd. But there was actually an adventure in this book and we also got a deeper look into Charlie’s family.
  • The Adventures of Doctor Dolittle: This is one of the books from my childhood that I actually still own. The cover is absolutely falling apart which is a sign to how much I loved it and how often I read it. I mean this story was/is awesome. He’s a super cool old man who can talk to animals! Who doesn’t wish that they could do that? And he had awesome adventures with the animals and went to exotic islands. A quintessential read for any young person with a great imagination.
  • Amelia Bedelia: The maid with the rhyming name who couldn’t do anything right. She was one of my favorite literary characters growing up and I loved reading about his misadventures. I would run and tell my mom whenever Amelia did something backwards and I just remember laughing myself to tears while trying to re-enact the whole scene to her.

These are definitely not the only books that I was obsessed with as a child but they are the ones that I hold most dear and are certainly the ones that helped to ignite my love for reading. Please feel free to share your favorite childhood books with me too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Things I Love

Leave a Reply

