Day 02: A book I’ve read more than 3 times

I first picked up this book as a 4th grader in our school library. We were only able to keep books for a week at that point so I remember that I would always try to get as far as I could in a week and then renew the book for the following week. It took me 2 whole months to finish it which I thought was pretty impressive for a 4th grader. But I also remember not taking in as much of the story as I had wanted to. After I turned it back in, I didn’t remember a lot of the story and was pretty disappointed. So the next year, I went to the public library and got my first library card and checked the book out. This time, I could keep it for a whole month. I read it in three weeks. This time around, I was able to take in more of the story and appreciate the characters more. I remember being devastated when Jo turned Laurie down and had to grab my box of tissues when they lost Beth. Ever since reading it that second time, Little Women became one of my favorite stories and I’ve read it about 4 or 5 times since then. I know the librarian at my school got tired of me bringing that book to the check-out desk every week. I’m sure the cover was also starting to look pretty worn. But that’s the sure sign of a really good book. The accompanying books later written by Susan Pfeffer, entitled “Jo’s Story,” “Meg’s Story,” and so on were also of great interest to me and are definitely recommended. They give you a much more in-depth look at the lives of each little woman outside the eyes of their sisters and allows you to add your own thoughts to the original story. Those I have also read a time or two. You always discover something new when you re-read a book you love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

