Day 08: Most overrated book

Okay so don’t get me wrong. For the most part, I liked this book. I wouldn’t give it 5 stars but the concept behind it was interesting and engaging. And the chapters were short enough to follow. But I think all the controversy and BFD’s that people have been making about this book is completely unnecessary and that’s why I think it’s the most overrated. After reading it and then hearing all the rumors about the author’s purpose behind the book and hearing very religious individuals condemn it just like they did with Harry Potter, I started losing what interest I had previously had in the book. It’s a work of FICTION. Just like Harry Potter. There are no hidden motives behind the book and while I am not aware of the author’s religious affiliation, I don’t feel he’s trying to bestow Atheist beliefs upon the world. Politics and religion are the two topics I just don’t talk about. I’ve seen way too many toes stepped on to know better. And when books like this come out and people start crying about it, it just loses all its clout with me and becomes overrated. So I’m sorry Dan Brown but you’ve entered that realm. Too many people are talking about you and making too big a deal of your books.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

