Day 09: A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

To Kill a Mockingbird was one of those books I was forced to read in school. When my 9th grade English teacher started passing these out I remember cringing because I always hated reading books that English teachers wanted me to read. From the experiences I had had, they always turned out to be boring and I would end up relying on Cliff’s Notes to finish the book and ace the tests. I had heard about this book before and knew it was considered a classic which at that point in my life, classic meant I wouldn’t understand what I was reading. But I started it like I did with every other high school requirement. I read the first chapter or two to determine my fate. Well before I knew it, I was at the end of the book. I absolutely loved this book. I couldn’t get enough of it. Boo Radley intrigued me to no end and I remember calling all my friends “Boo” for weeks. In my eyes, Harper Lee was a literary genius and Scout Finch was my new best friend. To this day, she still remains one of my favorite literary characters. And this book will always take the number 3 spot on my Top 10 list of favorites.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

