Day 11: A book you hated

Yes I really hated this book. It was the very first one I thought of when I saw today’s meme. It did not meet my expectations at all whatsoever and was probably one of the most boring yet hard to read books I’ve ever experienced in a literary sense. The play = AMAZING. The songs = STUPENDOUS. The book = SUCK. I feel like the play isn’t even loosely based off of the book because it’s so much more amazing and I just feel like there’s no way it could be related. The concepts behind Gregory Maguire’s books are great. I’m a huge fan of historical fiction and the “retelling” of fairy tales which is exactly what he aims to do with not only Wicked, but with Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, and Mirror Mirror. But if I’m going to be brutally honest, which I am most of the time, none of them are any good. Like at all. And it’s truly disappointing. But I knew I would hate this book within the first chapter which I’m pretty sure was about a million pages long. But keeping to my more recent oath of never starting a book and not finishing it, I rallied through. Which is a pretty good statement to make because it was like an all out war with myself to finish the thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

