Day 13: Your favorite writer

Again, another difficult one. This meme is bad for book lovers! I have a couple of authors I could deem my favorite but I’ve read at least 3 of this guy’s books and am hungry for more. This man is John Green. He’s mainly known for young adult fiction, but it’s good stuff. His stories are DEEP man. Never have I been so engrossed in a youth fiction story (besides Twilight of course…) But I can relate to some of his characters more than I am able to with any other character. Probably because his plots and character types are so REAL. A few of the situations he describes in his books are ones that I actually went through and it was really refreshing to get another person’s sense of getting dumped or feeling lonely and awkward in high school. I know a lot of books take on those roles but his take them to a whole different level and put you right in the middle of the action. The three books of his that I had read are: An Abundance of Katherines, Looking for Alaska, and Paper Towns. I recommend all three of them. I’m also looking to get Let it Snow which is a series of three interconnected short stories he wrote with Maureen Johnson (another of my favorites) and Lauren Myracle. I’m also wanting to read Will Grayson, Will Grayson which he co-wrote with David Levithan. Along with being an awesome writer, he’s also a pretty hilarious YouTube vlogger and had a series called Brotherhood 2.0 along with his brother Hank Green. They are now the “Nerdfighters” and still vlog under the “Vlogbrothers” pseudonym. On the day of J.D Salinger’s death, Green vlogged himself reading a portion of Catcher in the Rye. The narrator in Looking for Alaska, a young boy named Miles, has often been compared to the character of Holden Caulfield.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

