Day 19: Favorite book turned into a movie

Well again, I could go with Twilight here. But I will spare you all. It definitely would not be Harry Potter because besides Goblet of Fire and Deathly Hallows Part 1, I must say I haven’t been too impressed with the book/movie comparison. I actually have two favorites for this category and they could not be farther apart from each other in genre/content. I promise these choices don’t say much about the type of person I am. I’m just a really big movie/book buff.

The first one would have to be the animated ORIGINAL version of Alice in Wonderland. That movie WAS my childhood. And I still love it to this day. I know it wasn’t exactly like the book and that they meshed together aspects of Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass together. But it was simply a masterpiece. So vivid, so enchanting, just so AWESOME. I find it even more fascinating now that I’m grown up than I did when I was little. And I definitely understand a lot of the humor a lot more now too.

My second choice would have to be Francis Ford Coppola’s version of Dracula. While the original Bela Lugosi flick was also quite the blockbuster in my eyes, Coppola’s version did Stoker’s classic the best justice in my opinion. It was gory, it was brutal, it was sultry, and it was morbidly romantic. That’s exactly the image Stoker was trying to portray in the book and Coppola got it right on the nose. His version of Dracula was exactly the type of character that I had envisioned while reading the book and the plot line was dead on. Any movie that can stick to the book that well gets 5 stars from me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

