Day 29: A book everyone hated but you liked

I had to read this book in my 9th grade English class. We were split up into groups and were each assigned a different science fiction novel and this was the one my group was assigned to. I had never really been a fan of the sci-fi genre and was planning to Cliff Note the hell out of this book, as did the rest of my group. I had heard of Ayn Rand and The Fountainhead and most people I had heard from said her books were far too long and way too boring. When it came time to start reading, I just decided to read the first chapter and get somewhat of an idea of what it was about before I relied on good ole’ Cliff for all the rest. Well when the first chapter was over, I still had no idea what was going on but for some strange reason, I wanted to learn more. I am proud to say that I actually finished this book in its entirety without ever opening one of those little yellow and black pamphlets. And I’m even prouder to say that I was the only one in my group of 8 who did so. I remember our group discussions about the book and I was always the first (and really only one) to jump into discussion and start asking questions. My group members were not too big a fan of me at that point. Nor were they fans of the book. I remember them all saying how much they hated it and how wierd they thought I was for 1. actually getting through more than a page of the book and 2. actually reading the whole thing. But it was thought-provoking, interesting, and could even foreshadow a society yet to come. And that makes it a horror story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Memes

Leave a Reply

