Day 30: Your favorite book of all time

Drumroll please….it’s the final day of the book meme 😦 Which means I’m a week away from classes starting back up and I’m back to being a hermit. But back to the task at hand. Yes, The Great Gatsby is by far my favorite book of all time. No question. I read this book in the 11th grade and never looked back. The 20’s have always been my favorite time period. The fashions, the trends, the music, the parties, did I mention the fashion? I like to think I was a flapper in a previous life. This book is severely romantic and classic. I love everything about it. Especially the relationship between Gatsby and Daisy. And especially Gatsby. He’s that true classic gentleman that every woman could only dream of having in their arms. I remember thinking Daisy was the craziest woman in the world for letting go of that and I really disliked her throughout the majority of the book. I mean who doesn’t want a love like that? Forget Edward and Bella. And then I saw the movie and knew Robert Redford was the new man of my dreams. This book encompasses the generation that was the roaring 20’s and I can never get enough of it. I want my housewarming party to be a Gatsby party and I want to have a 20’s vibe to my wedding. This book has not only inspired me and taught me a lot about literature, but it’s given me a better sense of history and a much greater appreciation for the classic.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Memes

One response to “Day 30: Your favorite book of all time

  1. BRAVO on choosing Gatsby as your greatest of all time. Mine as well. It stands out among the most deeply human, magnetic, intoxicating tales ever written in any language. God rest the souls of Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. Thank God the written word renders them immortal within us all.
    m

Leave a Reply

