Snowpocalypse 2011

The South was hit with quite a winter storm this week. The system is now moving its way up towards the northeast and I sincerely hope all my Northern comrades are safe and warm. I have been trapped in my house for three days now and am most likely coming up on a fourth. In order to help assuage my cabin fever, I decided to blog about what we are lovingly referring to as “Snowpocalypse 2011.” This will also be marked on my mental calendar as the year that 49 out of 50 states had snow on the ground at one time. I mean how often does that happen?

I was supposed to start classes for the spring semester on Monday. Obviously that didn’t happen. The snow came in around midnight on Sunday and continued through late Monday afternoon. We got about 6 to 6.5 inches as you can see by my intense calculations.

The thing that is making this storm so bad is the fact that our temperatures have not even crested the freezing point during the day. The high today was 34. The low last night and for tonight is about 17 to 18 degrees, meaning that everything that melted today thanks to the large amount of sunshine, will refreeze at night and cause for even more hazards on the road. And that’s a whole different thing in itself. The roads.

Let me first start off with my driveway. My Dad attempted to dig out a track for his truck in case of an emergency. Since then, ice has formed on the exposed asphalt in the tracks and we are once again trapped at the top of our rather hellish driveway. He was able to make it out earlier today to get some food but said the Main Street in town could have served as an ice skating rink. And my campus had the audacity to have classes start at noon today. CHYEAH WHATEVS. I think it will be Friday at the earliest that I will officially be able to get out of my driveway without dying and when I will be comfortable enough with the efforts of the sun and the DOT to drive on the roads in town and on the interstate.

The last time I experienced a storm of this magnitude was when I was in elementary school. I remember school was closed for close to a week and we were without power for 2 or 3 days. We dodged a major bullet by not losing power this time. I think this is the first time that’s ever happened when we’ve been hit with any kind of winter weather. Electricity has definitely held the stir craziness at bay for longer than usual.

I must say the extended break has prolonged my personal reading time before I throw myself into Asian Religion, Public Relations, and Film History. I’m currently engulfed in Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. It’s a truly amazing story full of rather unique characters. And it’s set in the South which makes it all the more fun. I will definitely have a review of it up before this cold and cruel month is out.

School may carry on tomorrow but we are “encouraged” to use our best judgement when traversing the roads and interstates. This scared driver will probably be posted up until about Friday afternoon when it finally starts to warm up. The weatherman on my most trusted news channel today said that on this day in the year 2000, the temperature was 70 DEGREES. Sometimes it pays to live in the South. But this January, it doesn’t seem like anywhere is safe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Randoms

Leave a Reply

